Budget Year / Version:

Program Description

  Councilmember Offices

The nine elected County Councilmembers enact all local laws, oversee zoning and planning, appropriate funding for the budgets of public agencies, establish spending affordability guidelines, set property tax rates, and meet as the County Board of Health. The Council holds regular weekly sessions, conducts public hearings, and worksessions throughout the year. Each Councilmember serves on two of the following six Council Committees: Education and Culture; Health and Human Services; Government Operations and Fiscal Policy; Planning, Housing, and Economic Development; Public Safety; and Transportation and Environment. Five Councilmembers are elected by district, and four are elected Countywide. Councilmembers have staffs which are responsible for carrying out their work programs. The County Charter provides for a Confidential Aide for each Councilmember. Staff may consist of interns, analysts, legislative services coordinators, legislative senior aides, and other administrative personnel.

Program Contacts

Contact Sandra Marin of the County Council at 240.777.7923 or Philip Weeda of the Office of Management and Budget at 240.777.2780 for more information regarding this department's operating budget.


Program Budget Changes

FY22 Approved ChangesExpendituresFTEs
FY21 Approved652235949.80
Increase Cost: Support for Increased Constituent Services3600000.00
Increase Cost: Personnel Costs1183380.00
Increase Cost: Operating Expenses100000.00
Increase Cost: Workforce Adjustment 00.40
Multi-program adjustments, including negotiated compensation changes, employee benefit changes, changes due to staff turnover, reorganizations, and other budget changes affecting multiple programs.52860.40
FY22 Approved701598350.60